Quick Links

    Further information about the accelerator division at DESY

  • BIW10

    Website '2010 Beam Instrumentation Workshop'

  • Faraday Cup Award

    Informationen about the Faraday Cup Award

Faraday Cup 2010

This year the award was assigned to Kirsten Hacker (DESY) and Florian Loehl (CLASSE).

Kirsten Hacker (DESY) and Florian Löhl (formerly DESY, now working at Cornell University) were awarded the Faraday Cup 2010 at the Beam Instrumentation Workshop BIW10. Both laureates received the Faraday Cup Award for a newly developed diagnostic technology. The technique tested at FLASH uses short light pulses to determine the arrival time of a particle bunch in the accelerator with a precision of six femtoseconds and enables also the determination of the beam position with an accuracy of three micrometres.