2nd Joint ECFA/DESY Study on Physics and Detectors for a Linear Electron-Positron Collider.

To save this logo, use Shift-Click or the right mouse button Click on the image to enlarge

Extended ECFA/DESY Study News TDR LC notes Working Groups TESLA Colloquium

Goals of the Study

  1. To identify the important physics which can be studied in e+e-, e-gamma, gamma-gamma or e-e- at a Linear Colliders with center of mass energy in the range from ~200 to ~1000 GeV.
  2. To perform feasibility studies on a representative set of channels, assuming a luminosity of up to 5.1034cm-2s-1 and a realistic detector.
  3. To refine the detector parameters to match the demands of the physics programme and the constraints set by the collider.
  4. To identify and foster R&D programmes which will ensure that the required detector performance can be delivered.
  5. To prepare costed designs for a suitable detector (or for two detectors, if two collision points are found to be required, e.g. for e+e- and gamma-gamma physics).

Organizing committee:

Organising Committee of the Second ECFA/DESY Study on Physics and Detectors for a Future Linear Collider

Chair: David Miller, U.C.London.

Mikhail Danilov, ITEP, Moscow.
Enrique Fernandez, Barcelona.
Leif Jönsson, Lund.
Rolf Heuer, U. of Hamburg/DESY.
Paolo Laurelli, Frascati.
Martin Leenen, DESY.
François Richard, Orsay.
Ron Settles, MPI Munich.
Torbjörn Sjöstrand, Lund.
Peter Zerwas, DESY.


  1. April 1999.

    International Workshop on Linear Colliders (LCWS99) at Sitges, near Barcelona, Spain, 28 Apr - 5 May 1999.

    This was the fourth LCWS, following Saariselka, Finland, 1991; Waikoloa, Hawaii, 1993, Morioka, Japan, 1995. Results from the ECFA/DESY physics studies have been compared with work from the USA, Japan, and elsewhere.

  2. Mid 1999.

    A web-based refereed library of reports on all aspects of the study, including work presented at the workshops was established: LC Notes and Proceedings of the Study" A collection of these will be printed and issued as DESY 123F to provide detailed supporting documentation for the technical design report (TDR).

  3. Spring to Autumn 2000.

    Preparation and review of the draft of the costed technical proposal (TDR) for a detector and its scientific programme by the ECFA/DESY Study. The final draft is expected end of November 2000, edited TDR and LC notes of backup papers expected to be available in January 2001.

  4. March 2001.

    Presentation of a costed technical proposal for the TESLA Linear Collider (TDR), its detectors and the associated programme of science, including the results from the ECFA/DESY Study (with applications of a superconducting linear collider as an ultra bright X-ray source and a possible nuclear physics programme).

Contact Persons

The "Contact Persons" were nominated at the Oxford workshop to coordinate design issues of the detector. They are responsible for the progress on their specific part of the detector.
Please feel free to contact them if you have questions and let them know the progress of your work.

Chris Damerell        Vertex detector
Ties Behnke           Intermediate tracker, Particle ID
Ron Settles           Main tracker (TPC)
Klaus Moenig          Global tracking optimisation
Sergio Bertolucci     Calorimeter
Paul Colas            Magnet
Jean-Claude Brient    Calorimeter
Marcello Piccolo      Muon system
Günter Eckerlin       Bunch tagging
Grahame Blair         Mask (physics related background, forward detectors)
Siegfried Schreiber   Mask (machine related background, instrumentation)

Rolf Heuer            Coordination

Future Plans

Working Groups

(See the groups' own web pages - as they develop - for more details of membership and plans).
(You may send e-mail to all conveners of a working group by clicking on 'Convener')

First announcement

ECFA - the European Committee for Future Accelerators - is organizing a second joint study with DESY on Physics and Detectors for a Linear Electron-Positron Collider. The first study, in 1996/97, prepared an outline Conceptual Design Report for a Linear Collider experiment and reported upon its considerable physics potential; especially for Higgs boson physics, for searching for Supersymmetric particles and for high precision measurements of the properties of the top quark and of the electroweak gauge bosons. The results were incorporated in a two-volume report (ECFA 1997-182; DESY 1997-048) which includes two alternative designs for the linear collider; the superconducting TESLA machine and a normally conducting S-Band design. (The plans include facilities for other branches of science which would utilize the linac technology, including nuclear physics and the development and use of free electron lasers producing high quality synchrotron radiation down to the X-ray region).

The new study has two main goals:

  1. to complete the physics studies begun in 1996, using better models of the detector.
  2. to investigate the potential - and the problems - of operating the Linear Collider and the detector at 10x the previously assumed luminosity; i.e. at 5.1034cm-2s-1, at 500 GeV C. of M., and at correspondingly higher luminosities at higher energy.
Results of the physics studies will be submitted to the International Linear Collider Workshop at Sitges, near Barcelona in the Spring of 1999 (the next in the "LCWS" series - following Saariselka, Finland, 1991; Waikoloa, Hawaii, 1993; Morioka, Japan, 1995), when there will be an opportunity to compare with the plans from the USA and Japan. The eventual aim of the study is to produce in the year 2000 a costed Technical Design Report for the Collider and its detector with a complete physics case.

The study begins in Spring 1998. There will be three or four workshops during 1998 at a number of European venues.

Topics to be covered include machine-detector interface, backgrounds, triggering, physics goals, generators, detector simulation, detector performance in specific physics analyses and detector R&D.

All of those interested in joining in should look at the organizers website and come to the workshops.

Organizing committee:
David Miller (U.C. London, chair), Enrique Fernandez (Barcelona, chair of ECFA), Michael Danilov (ITEP), Rolf Heuer (Hamburg), Leif Jönsson (Lund), Paolo Laurelli (Frascati), Martin Leenen (DESY), François Richard (Orsay), Ron Settles (Munich), Torbjörn Sjöstrand (Lund), Albrecht Wagner (DESY), Peter Zerwas (DESY).

To save this logo,
use Shift-Click or the right mouse button

Top of this page. DESY Home Page

last updated by S Schreiber on 29-Jan-2001