Awarded: Honorary Doctor for Albrecht Wagner

Professor Albrecht Wagner, Chairman of the DESY Board of Directors, has been awarded in Moscow with the title of Honorary Doctor of the Lomonosov Moscow State University on the eighth of May.

The Scientific Council of the University honors Prof. Albrecht Wagner for his "prominent contribution to the field of particle physics and the fruitful collaboration between the Moscow State University and the Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron." The University is participating in the development of the ZEUS detector and collaborating for many years in the field of synchrotron radiation.

The particle physicist Albrecht Wagner worked at the University of Heidelberg and the Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory (USA). Between 1974 and 1986, he participated in the DORIS and PETRA experiments and in 1989 - 1990 he worked at CERN. In 1991 he became Professor at the University of Hamburg and was appointed Director of Research at DESY. Since 1999, Albrecht Wagner is Chairman of the DESY Board of Directors. In recent years, Albrecht Wagner also performed several functions as a scientific advisor in politics and research on an international level and he was appointed Fellow of the American Physical Society APS in 1994.