Ph.D. Thesis Prize 2001 for Dissertations at HERA

For the eighth time, the Association of the Friends and Sponsors of DESY presents the award for an excellent Ph.D. thesis at DESY. On Monday, June 3rd, the chairman of the Association, Prof. Erich Lohrmann, awarded the winners of the year 2001: Dr. Florian Goebel and Dr. Burkard Reisert. The prize was presented during the open session of the Extended Scientific Council.

Florian Goebel, now at the "Max-Planck-Institut für Physik in Munich", has contributed to the development of an additional instrumentation for the ZEUS-detector. In his thesis "Measurement of the Diffractive Contribution to the DIS Cross Section Using the ZEUS Forward Plug Calorimeter," he recorded very precise data about the so called diffractive processes. These processes are of particular interest for the theory of strong interaction.

Burkard Reisert from the "Max-Planck-Institut für Physik" in Munich, specified all the three functions which determine the structure of the proton in his thesis "Electron-Proton Scattering with High Momentum Transfer using H1 at HERA." Thereby he contributed significantly to the understanding of the structure of the proton.