

Born in 1965

Christian Stegmann

Education

1995	PhD at the OPAL experiment
	at University of Freiburg
1992 - 1995	Research stay at CERN, Geneva
1991 - 1992	Diploma thesis at the ZEUS experiment
	at University of Bonn
1988 - 1992	Scholarship holder of Friedrich Ebert Foundation
1986 - 1992	Study of physics at University of Bonn

Positions

Since 2019	Director in charge of Astroparticle Physics at DESY
Since 2011	Head of DESY, Zeuthen institute
	Professor for astroparticle physics (W3)
	at University of Potsdam
2008 - 2011	Professor for physics (W3)
	at University of Erlangen-Nürnberg
2006 - 2008	Professor for experimental physics (W2)
	at University of Erlangen-Nürnberg
2005	Visiting professor for experimental physics
	at University of Erlangen-Nürnberg
2000 - 2005	Senior research associate at H.E.S.S. workgroup
	at Humboldt Universität zu Berlin
1995 - 2000	Fellow at DESY, Zeuthen institute

Miscellaneous

Since 2019	Member of the board of trustees "Physik in unserer Zeit"
Since 2018	Chair of the Karl-Heinz-Beckurts-Foundation
Since 2014	Member and since 2017 chair of the expert committee
	of the BMBF for astroparticle physics and astronomy
2013 - 2015	Spokesperson H.E.S.S. experiment
Since 2012	Topic coordinator of astroparticle physics
	in the Helmholtz Association
Since 2012	Member of the Council of the CTA Observatory
2010	Bruno Rossi prize (ASS), H.E.S.S. collaboration
2010	Descartes prize, (EU), H.E.S.S. collaboration