news_suche news_search eng 1 1 8 both 0 1 %Y/%m/%d Press-Release

DESY’s Zeuthen campus to receive a new appearance

Award presented to winners of architectural competition

On Monday, 11 March 2019, the winner of the architectural competition held for the development of the campus, the new building for the CTA Science Data Management Centre and the canteen was announced.The first prize went to Heinle Wischer und Partner Freie Architekten GbR from Berlin, along with Ulrich Krüger Landschaftsarchitekten from Dresden. In the presence of the prize-winners, the chosen designs were presented to the public for the first time.All the models submitted for the competition will be on display until 15 March in an exhibition on the DESY campus (opening hours: 9h – 19h).

Download [2.8 MB, 6973 x 3592]
Perspective view from the central square, looking towards the lake (picture: Heinle Wischer und Partner Freie Architekten GbR, Berlin, with Ulrich Krüger Landschaftsarchitekten, Dresden).
“Planning a new building for the Science Data Management Centre, SDMC, and developing a masterplan for DESY’s research campus at Zeuthen is an exciting and complex challenge. That is why we decided, for the first time, to hold a competition to decide who should be awarded the contract,” explains Christian Harringa, Administrative Director of DESY and a member of the jury. The task was demanding: to design a high-quality new building within the context of planning a campus that would take into account the various different typologies of the existing interior and exterior spaces to form a prestigious whole.

“The offices of Heinle Wischer und Partner and Ulrich Krüger Landschaftsarchitekten presented outstanding and compelling plans,” Christian Stegmann was pleased to announce. He is in charge of DESY’s Zeuthen site as well as being the head of the Astroparticle Physics department. “These planners have demonstrated that they are the ideal partners for this project.”

The high-calibre competition, which was preceded by an open, worldwide application procedure, was carried out in two stages. In the first, 20 designs were submitted. After these had been examined by the jury, 8 participants were selected and asked to submit a more detailed design for the second stage of the competition.

“The jury was able and obliged to select the best approach from an extraordinarily wide range of proposals, and for that we owe a tremendous degree of respect and gratitude to everyone who took part. During both phases of the competition, our intensive comparative discussions revolved around the best layout for the further development of the campus as well as the ideal building,” says Johannes Löbbert, the deputy chairman of the jury, praising the way the process was conducted. “Our decision in favour of the proposal put forward by Heinle Wischer und Partner Freie Architekten GbR, Berlin, and Ulrich Krüger Landschaftsarchitekten, Dresden, was based particularly on the excellent way in which they brought together both these requirements and used them to each other’s benefit: combining a clear campus layout, which is open to further development, with a superior and appealing building design that effectively combines the two functions.

Download [1.9 MB, 3187 x 2125]
From left: Mr. Giesen, Mrs. Adam and Mr. Gyalokay of Heinle Wischer und Partner Freie Architekten GbR, Berlin, Mr. Stegmann, architect Mrs. Ruhm, Mr. Löbbert, deputy chairman of the jury (photo: DESY/ A. Jones).
The first prize was endowed with 18 000 euros, and in addition two third prizes were awarded, each of them worth 9000 euros.

“The architectural competition has produced an excellent outcome using a highly transparent procedure, which will make the campus in Zeuthen more attractive in both architectural and functional respects,” says Christian Stegmann. “At the same time, we have taken another important step towards turning the site into a centre for astroparticle physics and thereby further upgrading the Brandenburg region southeast of Berlin for scientific research.”



The competition was held in the form of a restricted, two-stage realisation competition following the guidelines for planning competitions – RPW 2013, in coordination with the Brandenburg Chamber of Architects.



First prize
Architectural offices: Heinle Wischer und Partner Freie Architekten GbR, Berlin/DE
Principal architect: Dr.-Ing. Alexander Gyalokay
Contributors: Dipl.-Ing. Jan Giesen, Dipl.-Ing. Heinrich Huber
Planning of open spaces: UKL Ulrich Krüger Landschaftsarchitekten, Dresden/DE
Principal architect: Ulrich Krüger
Contributors: Johannes Werner, Hannah Church

One third prize
Architectural offices: ARGE Oliver Jäkel Architekt und Kaspar Kraemer Architekten BDA GbR, Cologne/DE
Principal architect: Oliver Jäkel, Kaspar Krämer
Contributors: Hans Günter Lübben (Kaspar Kraemer Architekten)
Planning of open spaces: Schröder Landschaftsarchitekten und Ingenieure, Essen/DE
Principal architect: Andreas Schröder

One third prize
Architectural offices: kleyer.kobitz.letzel.freivogel Gesellschaft von Architekten mbH, Berlin/DE
Principal architect: Alexander Koblitz, Timm Kleyer
Contributors: Sasa Ciabatti, Nikolic Zlatko, Patricia Münch
Planning of open spaces: sinai gesellschaft von landschaftsarchitekten mbH, Berlin/DE
Principal architect: Adi Faust